27/07/17 Troopy Travels #2.

Our next Troopy adventure took us to Ellenborough Falls, Elands. Bags packed and troopy loaded we headed west, stopping for fuel at Kew and coffee at Miss Nellies cafe in Kendall. Listening to a Dierks Bentleys CD “Feel that fire” we were primed for success. I was hoping the kids would love the waterfall as much as they enjoyed their breakfast which they were still talking about 20 minutes into our trip.

As we hit the unsealed road I said “Troopy loves dirt roads”. “The troopy can’t talk dad it doesn’t have ears or a mouth” responded William. Thank you captain. “Do you love the troopy as much as me, Zahli?” asks William. Zahli nods.

We see some beautiful countryside and hills. “That Middle Brother mountain”, I point out, “The one with the tower”. “I’m pretty sure that’s the Eiffel tower,” says William. “I haven’t been there yet. Its in Paris.” Thank you captain, we’ll have to check that out!

DSC_0527

We see farms, tractors, cows and calves. We stop to check out some calves. “Oh I thought you said ‘cars” says William, “nah I don’t wanna get out. They might bite my fingers off.” So we continue on. Only 50km to go.

As we wind our way up the mountain towards Comboyne William comments, “wow! It’s a long way down off the edge! Look how far we would fall if the Troopy went off the cliff!”…No thanks, I’d rather not! William starts singing a song of his own creation: “If we went off the edge, edge, edge, we would all fall down, down, down, We would have to use the winch, winch, winch, but it doesn’t worrrrrrrk!” Thanks mate, that’s really positive.

We finally make it to Ellenborough Falls and quickly jump out to explore! There are lookouts to look out from, sign posts to read and snacks to eat! William notices some Aboriginal art on the information board and points out the Rainbow serpent. We read up on some local history and say an acknowledgement of Birpai country. This is something I would like to include in my Troopy Travels as I would like my kids to grow up appreciating who came before us and respecting Aboriginal culture.

After a quick read of the map we sketch out a battle plan for the day and head off. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves. It is a really beautiful spot and sight seeing with kids is awesome. Humans are natural explorers and researchers. “What’s this?” “Look here” (at the tiniest speck of dirt) “what does this sign say?” (Tallowood and Brushbox). Outdoor learning holds many benefits for children as we learn about plants, animals, human impact and how to organise our day.

After a quick return trip to “the Knoll” for waterfall selfies I decide we are up for the challenge of the 640 steps down to the base of the waterfall and back. William and Zahli cope well. “I’ve never seen a waterfall this big before” says William. We stop at the bottom for more snacks and prepare to climb back up. The trip back up is good, a challenge, but I’m glad for my children’s ability to think ahead and persist. William: “I’ve got an idea. If we just walk up until each seat then stop for a rest we will make it to the top. Or you could carry me” (Not happening champ) Zahli manages with a lot of carrying and hand holding but puts us boys to shame when we stop for rests. “No, keep going” says Zahli. What a legend.

Back at the top we set up for picnic lunch and encounter a variety of hungry wrens and birdlife. We check off another local landmark on our Troopy Travels and the kids sleep the 1hour 40minutes home!

Next week we check out the “Old Bottlebutt”, Thursday 3rd August, 9am. Stay tuned!

 

 

